Whole30 Day 4 – Big cheat day…but wait, let me explain!

Breakfast (@ home)

  • 1 scrambled egg
  • 1 slice of proscuitto
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1 small banana

“Snack”

So today I ran the BMO Half Marathon. That’s 21.1km (or 13.1 miles for you Amurricans) and I don’t consider a run of this distance easy by any means (the 10km Vancouver Sun Run I ran last week is no problem). I had 1 pre-run supplement, and on the course had 2 gel packs and 4 gummies (singles, not packages). Read more about these supplements and my run here!

These things are chalk full of sugars and simple carbs on purpose, to give you a boost of fast-metabolizing energy during sports. Definitely Paleo-naughty. But in better news, I got my personal best time of 2:11:47!

powerbar_1_performance_blend_apple_mango_straw powerbar_bars_large_03_15_performance_gel_strawberry

powerbar_gelblasts_large_01_1_gelblasts_strawberry_banana ProductPage_EnduranceGel_Family_Orange

Lunch (takeout from Sushi Town)

  • Sushi Town – We got takeout from our favourite local sushi joint. This was easy and difficult at the same time. What could be more raw and protein-y than sashimi? I had a few slices of salmon sashimi and a few slices of toro (fatty tuna) sashimi. Also not pictured here, I had 1 chopped scallop nigiri, but I picked out most of the rice and just ate the seaweed and chopped scallop topping. Pretty sure they use mayo in that mix, but it’s a small enough amount for me not to fret over it. My soya sauce was not gluten-free (for something so minor, is it worth stressing?)
  • Veggies – The meal was supplemented by veggies at home. A small side of Japanese seaweed salad and some stirfried green beans in lemon, chicken/pork broth (leftover from other cookings), onions, and garlic. I had about 3x the volume of green beans pictured below lol.

IMG_20140504_033502

Snack (@ home)

  • A handful of homemade kale chips
  • 2 small morsels of Lindt extra dark chocolate.

Dinner (@ TC’s parents’ place)

  •  Home cooked Chinese meal. Was able to stay away from the rice and tofu, eating mostly veggies and fish and a couple oysters. I may have had 2 pieces of honey garlic ribs (honey = bad. deep fried = bad), and 2 small bites of cake (it was a birthday dinner!), but otherwise I think I did OK.

Wins

Ate “out” again today and still managed to make some pretty good, Paleo-friendly choices!

Challenges

The performance products I drank/ate for today’s half marathon were super Paleo-naughty. I don’t really know yet if there’s another way around this, and my next half marathon won’t be until August, well after I’m done my Whole30 (read: don’t know if I’ll be sufficiently motivated to figure it out). But if I do find a solution, I’ll be sure to write about it!

Also, eating meals cooked by other people is tough. I don’t really feel comfortable asking for special allowances when someone else is cooking! I don’t want to be perceived as picky or particular or high-maintenance. On the other hand, I also don’t want to seem rude by avoiding certain dishes…………..hm. Tough one.

Thoughts?

Breakfast seems to be the easiest meal for me to keep 100% Paleo. Hopefully I can slowly expand to the other meals as well 🙂

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

