Recipe: Paleo Chocolate Truffles – They’re like amazeballs in your mouth.

I made some Paleo chocolate truffle chocolate (Why is it truffle chocolate and not actual truffles? Read on…)

Originally from nom nom paleo’s post here, I made 1/2 a recipe for my first try. These things are creamy and delicious, and really hit the spot when you’ve got a craving for something sweet and cocoa-y!! 😀

Chopped up some 70%+ dark chocolate. This one is a President’s Choice brand giant 300g bar from Superstore that is made with canola lecithin instead of soy lecithin. It’s super affordable and tastes great.

PCExtraDarkChocolateEN500x500.jpg.thumb.420.420.margin

While chopping the chocolate, I had some full-fat coconut milk (the kind in a can!) on the stove at the lowest setting. I have a gas stove, so it’s hard to have any “low” setting (which is probably why I keep burning my homemade ghee…). If you have doubts, suggest using a double boiler!

Once the coconut milk is simmering, pour it over your chopped chocolate…

IMG_20140514_132023     IMG_20140514_132428

And stir conservatively just until the mixture is smooth and combined. Now try not to stick your face right into this bowl and slurp it all up :S

IMG_20140514_132605

Put it in the fridge to set for a few hours. Then you can roll the truffles into balls and give them a coconut or cocoa powder covering. I’m not actually serving these to anyone, and I didn’t particularly feel like rolling out the chocolate into pretty little balls (I actually tried one and it just takes too much work for not having to present it to anyone. Plus, it melts quickly and gets all over your hands so you look like you have poop hands), so I literally have the bowl in my fridge with a little teaspoon that I can use to scoop out a bit at a time whenever I’m craving some chocolate. Hence why I’ve made chocolate truffle chocolate, instead of chocolate truffles 😀

These things just melt in your mouth and are oh-so-smooth.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

