Homemade Almond/Coconut Milk & Flour – You won’t believe how easy it is!

I really like this blog where I learned how to make my own Almond Milk / Almond Flour and Coconut Milk / Coconut Flour. If you’ve never made this before, you’ll be shocked at how incredibly easy (and affordable) it is!!

First, soak your almonds in water. I usually do this overnight, just so I don’t have to think about it 🙂 Pictured below is 1 cup. I get my almonds in bulk from Costco (Kirkland brand). I know there’s a bunch of controversy these days about gassing nuts, etc. etc. etc. but I have always liked Costco nuts – good quality and very good price.

IMG_20140521_100832

Wash and rinse your almonds, then put them in a blender with water. The recipe calls for 8-10 cups of water for 1 cup of almonds, but I found this ratio to be too watery – so I doubled up on almonds. 1 cup almonds for 4 cups of water. Then blend away!

IMG_20140521_100743

Pour your milk into a container through a nut bag. I use carebags made by the Vancouver-based company Cool Earth Products. These are actually supposed to be reuseable produce bags for when you go grocery shopping, but they are GREAT as nut bags too!

If you don’t have a nut bag, you could try a couple layers of cheese cloth or a fine mesh strainer.

Now, PLEASE-UH SQUEEZE-UH!

IMG_20140521_100858

And there you have your homemade almond milk. Yes, seriously. It was THAT easy.

IMG_20140521_100945

But wait! Save your pulp! Bake it in your oven at the lowest setting (170 Celsius for me) until the pulp is dried out. You may need to go in and move it around a bit halfway through…

IMG_20140520_114710

Throw it in a blender and pulse a few times until you get a powder. I don’t make it super fine, because I err on the side of under-blending for fear of creating almond butter instead of almond powder (although there are many worse things in life other than making almond butter by accident :D)

Voila! Homemade almond flour, instead of that super expensive stuff in the stores!!

IMG_20140521_133354     IMG_20140521_133447

My belly (and my wallet) thank you for these wonderful homemade DIY almond products 😀

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

